• If you were supposed to get an email from the forum but didn't (e.g. to verify your account for registration), email Wes at [email protected] or talk to me on Discord for help. Sometimes the server hits our limit of emails we can send per hour.
  • Get in our Discord chat! Discord.gg/stararmy
  • 📅 April 2024 is YE 46.3 in the RP.

Direction of SARP's Elves

Back when I was a teen, in high school, I spent two years living in a dorm. In my second year there, I graduated from a 6-bed room to a 2-bed room. At some point, my dorm-mate was visited by family.

Two people, in their late fifties. He wasn't in the room, so, I told them to wait there and went to fetch him, telling him: "Hey, your grandparents have come to visit". He seemed surprised, and when he followed me back, he went "Dude, these are my parents" with a note of amused exasperation.

I was stunned by the revelation. He was just a year older than I was, but his parents looked like my grandparents.

You see, my mom had me when she was 19. Her parents were in their late thirties. In 1980, that was kind of normal at the time that once you were an adult, you'd probably have children in your early twenties. We were just getting out of the trend of multi-generational homes at the time. At that age, my mom was in her mid-thirties, and my grandparents in their mid-fifties. I can recall a time when there wasn't a single noticeable strand of gray hair on my grandparents head (my grand-dad balded early, though).

The age of my dorm-mate's grandparents was shocking at the time. Nowadays, people have a tendency to wait until they are financially established, so getting children around the thirties is far more common. Our population is also aging, and it's far more common to see a greater frequency of older people wanting to ask/hog for the seats in a bus (though that could also be because I'm on a bus line that leads to a cardiology clinic on its way, so-).

But now, imagine...