• If you were supposed to get an email from the forum but didn't (e.g. to verify your account for registration), email Wes at [email protected] or talk to me on Discord for help. Sometimes the server hits our limit of emails we can send per hour.
  • Get in our Discord chat! Discord.gg/stararmy
  • 📅 February and March 2024 are YE 46.2 in the RP.

The Star Army Creed

I am soldier of the Star Army, an expert in combat and exploration.

I serve the people of Yamatai and will never betray the trust they have placed in me.

I am a professional – I will maintain my mind, body, and equipment in constant readiness, and will follow my orders.

I will take pride in my starship and work hard to it the Star Army’s finest.

No matter what, I will never give up, and I will always do the right thing.

I like the first four lines. The last line ... it just sounds squishy to me. Not very solid a declaration for the final line.

Alright, I changed the last line to:

"I will always do what's right and I will never give up, no matter what."

... I was thinking something that sounded more formal.

"I serve at the pleasure of the Emperor, and defend his will with my life."

Or, seeing we serve Yamatai's people, not the Emperor --

"I will protect the Empire of Yamatai even in the face of death."

Something that sounds final, slightly fanatical, a statement of dedication, something that shows everyone knows, up front, that you could die for this nation.

This isn't the U.S. Army, after all -- especially with the presence of Nekovalkyrja, it feels like there should be that level of zealotry. Think of the Rifle Creed and how crazy it sounds.

That is something I'd expect from a Nekovalkyrja, a weapon made purely for war. Sure, Geshrin and Yamataians could say this too, but aren't there different creeds for officers in the U.S. Army anyway?

I'm in agreement with Doshii - the current wording is too fuzzy, too generic, too...good. It might fly for the Neps, but Yamatai? I doubt it.