• If you were supposed to get an email from the forum but didn't (e.g. to verify your account for registration), email Wes at [email protected] or talk to me on Discord for help. Sometimes the server hits our limit of emails we can send per hour.
  • Get in our Discord chat! Discord.gg/stararmy
  • 📅 July 2024 is YE 46.5 in the RP.

[Aeonic] P4 Stinger Pistol

Scot

Inactive Member
https://wiki.stararmy.com/doku.php?id=ae ... nformation

This is my first attempt at a SARP weapon, please be detailed so I can understand what I may be able to do in the future.

This if anything is a prototype that was used then replaced by a superior design soon after release.

Art- Not sure if I should, if this works, I'll set to work on it's second design which I will attempt to create art for, which probably get much more use than this weapon.

A few thoughts. First, the round seems very oddly sized. At 2 inches long and 1 inch in diameter, the bullet alone is bigger than the .50 Action Express, case included, which is one of the largest pistol rounds in the real world. Further, a 2 inch bullet in a 3 in barrel would gain essentially nothing in ballistic stability. With 800 FPS muzzle velocity, it just would not be in there long enough. Moreover, having a curve in the projectile would make the round tumble like nobody's business. Now, a 1x2 inch projectile traveling at 800 FPS is going to go a long way, a lot longer than the 20 meters you listed, but with that curve and no ballistic stability its accurate/effective range is going to be way smaller, again a lot shorter than 20 meters. Projectiles, and even more-so ones without the benefit of being spun by rifling in a barrel, require symmetry for stable ballistic flight.