• If you were supposed to get an email from the forum but didn't (e.g. to verify your account for registration), email Wes at [email protected] or talk to me on Discord for help. Sometimes the server hits our limit of emails we can send per hour.
  • Get in our Discord chat! Discord.gg/stararmy
  • 📅 July 2024 is YE 46.5 in the RP.

The birth of the contemporary Powered Armor?

OsakanOne

Retired Member
Inactive Member
Hey all,

I've got a few questions I'd like to ask.

You see, I do a lot of illustration in my free time and I'm currently studying Syd Mead, the man responsible for the visual look of titles like Blade Runner, Short Circuit, Turn-A Gundam and the infamous Tron.
This is all thanks to an online seminar system and a series of books and such and one of the first classes is to "understand" what it is you are to depict or design.

So I here I go:

What were the conditions from which the armor as we know it (and may have knew it prior) which made it what it is today? When did they come into the SARP, who worked on them and how did it all "go down"?
These large lumbering hover-tanks of extreme maneuverability or sleek sensual bodies with speed and warfare capacity beyond modern imagination.
And what came before? I hear transforming fighters the likes of which we familiarize as the Macross franchise.

And I'd like to know what they mean to you as players. Are they annoying, fun, things of grace? Both from an in-character and out of character perspective, if you can help it.

I really appreciate whatever answers you throw my way, as simple or as detailed as they are and I'd like an answer of what they mean to you individually, long after the basics have all been told. Feel free to go off into a bit of a rant: Everything I get out of you is good.

Thankyou for your time.

I will now banter of a brief history of power armor:

First, I will break down the early armors by user:

Ketsurui/Kessaku/Star Army of Yamatai
The Lamia M1, which was a mostly automated unit.