• If you were supposed to get an email from the forum but didn't (e.g. to verify your account for registration), email Wes at [email protected] or talk to me on Discord for help. Sometimes the server hits our limit of emails we can send per hour.
  • Get in our Discord chat! Discord.gg/stararmy
  • 📅 May and June 2024 are YE 46.4 in the RP.

As a new player, where do I start?

Elizabeth

Inactive Member
Okay, I'm lost. :shock:

I'm not a newbie to role-playing but, I'm uber newb to this site. If anyone can help out and let me know what plots I can currently join...I'll just create a char. and hop into one. Or...just kind of shove me in the right direction and I will nod and trample off. Thanks.

A Crash Course inside a Nutshell.

1. Write a bio. Stick it on the 'New Character Biographies' forum. If you don't know how, use the CCG link at the top of the page for some info.

2. Wait for approval before continuing. If it's not approved, the GM will probably give you some suggestions on how to improve it. When it's approved, continue to step three.

3. Join a plotship. That's fancy talk for a role play group. If you want to join a Star Army plotship there is a sticky thread in the 'Star Army Communications Network' forum. There you can request an assignment, which is basically when someone sticks you in an available Star Army plotship. If you want to join a non-Star Army plotship (pirate, Nepleslian, and other factions) you should probably PM the GM of that plotship/thread.

4. Finally, roleplaying. Generally there are two types of roleplaying. The first is standard forum posts, or SP. The second is over instant messanger, called JP. That's when everyone meets in a chatroom at a certain time and roleplays for 2-4 hours via instant messanger. JPs usually take place only once every few days so things don't get too hectic.