• If you were supposed to get an email from the forum but didn't (e.g. to verify your account for registration), email Wes at [email protected] or talk to me on Discord for help. Sometimes the server hits our limit of emails we can send per hour.
  • Get in our Discord chat! Discord.gg/stararmy
  • 📅 April 2024 is YE 46.3 in the RP.

Nepleslians Have a Smoking Problem

Status
Not open for further replies.
Okay. I'm now awake, have had sleep and no longer the zombie I was when I first read this last night.

Plus, we have children on the site whose minds are still being developed and teenagers are particularly at-risk.
I wish to say that, as a teacher, I find this argument a bit... flat. Children are not as oblivious as you think they are. Furthermore, if we have "children" on the site, it means we have players under the age of 13. Above 13 are teenagers. We all know the rule states that you need to be 16 and that its an honor system. I teach that age level and I don't see any evidence of there being children's writing on the site. If you know we have underaged members, I want to know why they haven't been booted. Otherwise, please don't use hyotheticals. If we're going to be child-friendly, then the 16+ rule should be tossed out, the guidelines on what constitutes child-friendly role-play should be drafted and the 18+ section removed.

If you want one part of the site to be wear gloves, then it makes no sense for the rest of the site to be exempt. SARP is not a child-friendly website as it is. Removing smoking will do nothing in that regard. You would also have to address the obvious gender stereotypes present within the setting, the NMX/SMX use of slave soldiers, and various other things that make the setting less than ideal. I deal with parents daily and even the most liberal of them would be hesitant about this site, even without smoking. Why? The site's main focus is on violence and pretending to shoot at each other.